QUESTION: I signed up for a Facebook account and uploaded some photos to my profile. I was soon contacted out of the blue by someone I didn't want to hear from and who I didn't know could see my photos and profile. I've been told that I should stop using Facebook, but will I still be able to see my photos if I cancel my account, and how can I make sure no one else can see them?
ANSWER: Facebook is perfectly safe, provided that you make use of its privacy settings, so only the people you know can see your profile.
Log into your Facebook account and click Account in the top-right corner. Choose Privacy Settings from the drop-down menu, then click Custom, Customise settings.
The next page lists each section of your profile and lets you choose who is able to see it - everyone, friends of friends, friends only or a select group of people. We recommend choosing friends only for each option. This way, you can ignore requests from people you don't want to contact.
From now on, anyone who wants to see your photos or get in touch with you will need to request you as a friend.
See also: How to use Facebook safely
See also: How much is your Facebook profile worth?